Recipes

Vacherin Mont-d’Or can be enjoyed as you please. It is delicious simply served cold with bread and wine, but you can also create your own recipe. The best known recipe is baked vacherin. A very simple and scrumptious way to eat this cheese.

Whole oven-baked vacherin

1. Use one whole Vacherin Mont-d’Or. Place on a sheet of aluminium or in a baking dish. 2. Pierce several slits with a fork (as you would a pastry mixture). You can also insert 1or 2 garlic cloves into the slits. 3. Drizzle the surface of the cheese with one declitre...

Rice with courgettes and Vacherin

Serves 4: Ingredients 200 g of rice 3 small courgettes 50 g of butter 50 g of ham on the bone 100 g of vacherin 1 garlic clove 1 tablespoon of finely chopped onion 7 decilitres of broth 1 sachet of saffron powder 2 to 3 thyme sprigs Salt and pepper Method Cut the ham...

“Vallée de Joux” pizza

Serves 4: Ingredients 300 g of pizza dough 250 g of vacherin 100 g de cured ham 1 big tomato 2 eggs 30 g chopped parsley and chives Salt and freshly ground pepper Method Chop the parsley and chives; cut the cured ham in small dices. Divide the piza dough into two...

Vacherin macaroni gratin

Serves 4: Ingredients 200 g of vacherin (runny) 150 g of cooked ham 50 g of of crushed breadcrumbs 80 g of butter (2×40 g) 30 g of flour 2 decilitres of milk 2 eggs Salt and ground pepper Method Make hard-boiled eggs and cook the macaroni "al dente". Prepare a white...

Chervil and Vacherin tart

Serves 4: Ingredients 250 g short pastry 200 g of Vacherin 100 g of chervil Flour Cream Eggs Salt and ground pepper Method Line a tart mould with the pastry (thickness of approx.1 cm), prick the dough with a fork. Wash the chervil in running water, drain and dry, then...

Oven cooked button mushrooms with Vacherin on top

Serves 4: Ingredients 11 to 16 big button mushrooms 150 g of Vacherin 30 g of butter 2 slices of prosciutto ham Salt Ground pepper Nutmeg Method Rinse the mushrooms in a mixture of water and vinegar; cut the stems and chop finely. Melt the butter in a saucepan and...

Avocados stuffed with Vacherin

Serves 4: Ingredients 250 g of runny Vacherin 4 ripe avocados Ground pepper Cumin, season to taste Method Slice the avocados lengthwise and remove the pits. Spoon out the avocados and cut into small cubes before mixing them with the creamy Vacherin. Pepper generously...

Veal cordon bleu with Vacherin

Serves 4: Ingredients 4 veal escalopes, quite thick, in a butterfly cut 4 slices of cured ham 150 to 200 g of Vacherin 3 tablespoons of oil 4 sage leaves Salt and pepper Method Open each escalope in a butterfly cut and place a 1 cm thickness layer of Vacherin along...

Rezepte

Vacherin Mont-d’Or kann man nach Lust und Laune geniessen. Ganz einfach kalt gegessen, begleitet von Brot und Käse, schmeckt er köstlich. Denen, die gerne ihr eigenes Rezept entwickeln möchten, bietet er ebenfalls unendlich viele Möglichkeiten. Das seit langem bekannteste ist der Vacherin aus dem Backofen. Nachfolgend das ebenso einfache wie unwiderstehlich gute Rezept.

Ganzer Vacherin aus dem Backofen

1. Nehmen Sie einen Vacherin Mont-d’Or und entfernen Sie den Schachteldeckel. Packen Sie die Schachtel in Alufolie ein und stellen Sie sie in eine Gratinform. 2. Stechen Sie mit einer Gabel Löcher in den Käse (so, wie Sie es mit einem Kuchenteig machen). Sie können...

Reis mit Zucchetti und Vacherin

Für 4 Personen Zutaten 200 g Reis 3 kleine Zucchetti 50 g Butter 50 g Beinschinken 100 g Vacherin 1 Knoblauchzehe 1 Esslöffel Zwiebeln, fein gehackt 7 dl Bouillon 1 Beutelchen Safranpulver 2 bis 3 Thymianzweiglein Salz und Pfeffer Zubereitung Den Schinken in kleine...

Pizza «Vallée de Joux

Für 4 Personen: Zutaten 300 g Pizzateig 250 g Vacherin 100 g Rohschinken 1 grosse Tomate 2 Eier, hart gekocht 30 g Petersilie und Schnittlauch, gehackt Salz und Pfeffer aus der Mühle Zubereitung Petersilie und Schnittlauch hacken. Den Rohschinken in kleine Stückchen...

Makkaroni-Gratin mit Vacherin

Für 4 Personen: Zutaten Makkaroni 200 g Vacherin 150 g Rohschinken 50 g Paniermehl 80 g Butter (2×40 g) 30 g Mehl 2 dl Milch 2 Eier, hart gekocht Salz und Pfeffer aus der Mühle Zubereitung Die Eier hartkochen, die Makkaroni «al dente». Mit den 40 g Butter, den 30 g...

Vacherin-Tarte mit Kerbel

Für 4 Personen: Zutaten 250 g Mürbeteig 200 g Vacherin 100 g Kerbel Mehl Rahm Eier Salz und Pfeffer aus der Mühle Zubereitung Eine Kuchenform mit dem Mürbeteig auslegen (ca. 1 cm dick), mit einer Gabel einstechen. Den Kerbel unter fliessendem Wasser waschen, abtropfen...

Champignons de Paris, mit Vacherin gratiniert

Für 4 Personen: Zutaten 11 bis 16 grosse Champignons de Paris 150 g Vacherin 30 g Butter 2 Tranchen Rohschinken Salz und Pfeffer aus der Mühle Muskatnuss Zubereitung Die Champignons mit Essigwasser waschen. Die Stiele abschneiden und fein hacken. Die Butter in einer...

Avocado, gefüllt mit Vacherin

Für 4 Personen: Zutaten 250 g «fliessender» Vacherin 4 gut ausgereifte Avocados Pfeffer aus der Mühle Kümmel, nach Belieben Zubereitung Die Avocados längs halbieren und den Stein entnehmen. Das Fruchtfleisch aus den Schalen lösen, in kleine Würfel schneiden und dann...

Cordon bleu mit Vacherin

Für 4 Personen: Zutaten 4 recht dicke Kalbsplätzchen, eingeschnitten wie Taschen 4 Tranchen Rohschinken 150 bis 200 g Vacherin 3 Esslöffel Öl 4 Salbeiblätter Salz und Pfeffer Zubereitung Jedes Plätzchen öffnen und eine rund 1 cm dicke Vacherinschicht hineingeben,...